Several Mustangs receive all-district baseball recognition

The 2012 Sweetwater High School baseball team had 11 of its players receive all-district baseball honors in a season that saw them compete for the playoffs until losing a one-run lead in the last inning of their final game with Big Spring.Pitcher James Clift, first baseman Greg Aiken, catcher Sean Morrow and outfielder Willie Norman made the first team. Aiken also made the first team in 2011. Morrow and Norman were named first team after being second-team picks in 2011, and Clift was also named to the all-district first team for the first time.Sweetwater’s second team picks are Ryan Linebaugh in the outfield, Kaleb Hoover at pitcher and Brandon Howell at designated hitter. Linebaugh, like Morrow, has been all-district three straight years and Hoover was all-district last year as well, while Howell is all-dis-trict for the first time.Gabe Medellin, Stephen May, Shawn Campbell and Cole Maxwell received all-district honorable mention for the Mustangs, who were 9-13-1 overall and 2-6 in District 5-3A play. District runnerup Snyder snagged two top honors, as Hunter Cox was overall MVP while Brenon Rhodes was offen-sive MVP. Big Spring’s Haegan Rodriguez and Wylie’s Blake Frampton were named the district’s co-newcomers of the year, while Brownwood’s Scott Kinzler was chosen as the defensive MVP. Wylie was the District 5-3A champion this season and reached the third round of the playoffs, while Snyder and Big Spring — which clinched the No. 3 spot by beating Sweetwater — both advanced to the second round of the playoffs before seeing their seasons come to an end.