Clower named Newcomer of Year in 14-1A

Ron Howell
Sports Editor

Devan Clower of Blackwell has been honored as basketball Newcomer of the Year in District 14-1A. He’s the second Blackwell player to receive the honor this year, joining fellow freshman Kiley Cummings.
Making the first team for Blackwell was sophomore Michael Lowry, while senior Dillon Solis and sophomore Grant Gott (second team) and junior Peyton Hinckley (honorable mention) were also recognized.
Highland had two girls and two boys who received first team all-district honors in District 12-1A.
Highland’s first team girls players were Karlie Allen and Zoe Cornett, while Eli Sauer and Jordan Johns are boys first teamers. Nolan Montgomery and Sam Spaulding are boys second teamers and the girls landed Kenady Hall on the all-district second team. For the boys, Richard Fomby and Jacob Hamilton both received all-district honorable mention.
In District 8-2A, Roscoe had Kinzie Buchanan make the all-district first team for the girls while for the Roscoe boys, Jose Ortega made the second team.
Brandon Lavalais, Jayden Gonzales and Junior Martinez all received all-district honorable mention for the boys while Bonnie Wilkinson, Veronica Cuellar and Victoria Martinez received girls honorable mention.
Jaci Alexander, Ainsleigh Nelson, Riley Sheridan, Liberty Saenz and Baylor Trevino were named to the academic all-district team for the Roscoe girls, while earning academic all-district honors for the Roscoe boys were Clemente Aguayo, Camden Boren, Caleb Gray, Nick Limones and Junior Martinez.
The Sweetwater boys and girls and Blackwell girls' all-district basketball players were announced in previous editions of the Sweetwater Reporter.