Changes made in voting precincts

The primary election is coming up on Tuesday, May 29, 2012, with several dates and changes to announce prior to the voting day.The last day to register to vote was on April 30; however, voters can begin to request a ballot by mail. The last day for the County Clerk to receive applications to vote by mail is on Tuesday, May 22.Early voting begins on Tuesday, May 14 in the County Clerk's office--located at the Nolan County Courthouse (100 East Third), Suite 108--from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. The last day of early voting is Friday, May 25. On the day of the primary election--Tuesday, May 29, the polls will be open from 7 a.m to 7 p.m. The big ticket item for the primary election is the presidential primary on the Republican side. However, within the area, the seat for county commissioner in Precinct 1 is a race against incumbent Terry Willman (Democrat) and Republican nominee Jerry Hulcy.Also, a number of local positions are unopposed on the ballot for both parties. For Republicans, this includes District Judge Glen Harrison, District Attorney Ann Reed, County Sheriff David Warren and County Chair Larry May.Democrats will see on their ticket County Attorney Lisa Peterson, County Tax Assessor-Collector Kathy Bowen, County Constable Will Lenoir and County Chair Mark Hampton as unopposed nominees as well.Several other elections on the federal and state level will also be taken to the polls, such as U.S. Senator, Railroad Commission, State Supreme Court Justices, Court of Criminal Appeals, and the State Board of Education. Republicans will additionally vote toward a U.S. Representative, State Senator, State Representative and 11th Court of District Appeals. Furthermore, party referendums will also be among the vote. For Republicans, five issues--school choice, repealing "Obamacare", public prayer, balanced budget/controlled government growth, and redistricting--will appear on the ballot.Democrats will have three propositions to be voted on, which deal with obtaining legal status, college tuition rates and casino gambling.One significant change was made in the voting precincts in mid-March of this year, when voting precincts 10 through 14 were consolidated with the other current voting precincts. The initial plan presented is to eventually remove the voting precincts by the national election date set for Tuesday, November 6, 2012.Another change made was shared polling places for Republicans and Democrats. "This process was done to make it easier on voters that lived in Nolan, Blackwell, Maryneal and Roscoe by allowing them to remain in their own city to cast a ballot," said Nolan County Clerk Pat McGowan.Any runoff elections following the primary election are currently set for Tuesday, July 31.The shared and consolidated polling places for the election are now as follows: Pct. # 1 & 10 Broadway Baptist Church710 E. Third St.Sweetwater, Texas 79556Pct. # 2 Trinity Baptist Church1506 Santa Fe StreetSweetwater, Texas 79556 Pct. # 3 & 11 Lamar Street Baptist Church 513 Lamar StreetSweetwater, Texas 79556Pct. # 4 & 12 Evangelical Methodist Church700 LamarSweetwater, Texas 79556 Pct. # 5 Nolan/Divide Community Center1742 FM 126Nolan, Texas 79537Pct. # 6 & 13 Roscoe Community Center100 Bois D’ArcRoscoe, Texas 79545 Pct. # 7 Blackwell School610 North Alamo Ave.Blackwell, Texas 79506Pct. # 8 Maryneal Community Center210 WalnutMaryneal, Texas 79535Pct. # 9 & 14 Avondale Baptist Church1405 Hoyt StreetSweetwater, Texas 79556