Blackwell dominates all-district football team

Ron Howell
Sports Editor

Blackwell dominates the District 6-1A, Division II all-district football team released this week, receiving all of the superlative awards and having nine players who received first team recognition.
Blackwell has the offensive MVP in Brandon Brinkman, the defensive MVP in Joe Sanchez and the district newcomer of the year in Joel Guia, and coaches Clint Lowry and Dale Means were honored as the district's staff of the year. The first teamers are Sanchez at running back, Joel Guia at tight end and defensive lineman, Peyton Hinckley at wide receiver, Caleb Sirmons at tight center, Michael Lowry at quarterback and safety, Cameron Coldiron at fullback and defensive lineman, Junior Guia at noseguard and kicker, Devan Clower at utility player and Brinkman at cornerback. The Hornets' second team selections are Hunter Perry at defensive lineman, Hinckley at safety, Clower at wide receiver and Brendan Scott at both fullback and cornerback.
Blackwell won its second straight district championship while going 11-1 for the second year in a row as well, equalling the most victories in school history. The Hornets were also bi-district champions for the second straight season until losing to Jayton in the regional playoffs.
Pictures of the all-district Blackwell players are in Thursday's print edition of the Reporter.