All-district Mustangs

Six Sweetwater players have earned first team all-District 4-3A football honors and sophomore quarterback Kaegan Jeffrey is the co-newcomer of the year.Three of the first team-ers — senior Willie Norman, junior Kaleb Hoover and sophomore Bray Amos — are wide receivers while the other three are on defense — senior lineman Tadeo Canon-Masjoan, senior linebacker Ryan Linebaugh and sophomore defensive back Isaiah McGee.Jeffrey completed 141 of 245 passes for 2,089 yards and 19 touchdowns this season in his first year as a starter. Amos caught 50 passes for 652 yards, while Hoover caught 38 passes for 562 yards and Norman was on the receiving end of 33 passes for 642 yards.Linebaugh and Canon-Masjoan also earned second team all-district recognition at running back and kicker, respectively.Sweetwater’s other players named to the second team were offensive linemen Jonathan Martinez and Andrew Davis, Nick Nemir at defensive back and Luis Gaxiola at defensive end.Linebaugh, Nemir, Gax-iola, Hoover and Canon-Masjoan received either first- or second-team all-district recognition for the second straight year.Linebaugh had 425 yards and nine TDs rushing this season for Sweetwater and also had a team-high 135 tackles, while Canon-Masjoan had 118 tackles, including a team-high 16 for a loss plus nine sacks. Nemir recorded 84 tackles and Gaxiola had 73 stops. Earning honorable mention all-district recognition for Sweetwater were Kyle Lambert, Cole Maxwell, Daven Alvarez, Angel Cab-allero, Ty Davis, Stephen May and Kendall Rea.Wylie’s Taylor Grant was the MVP and Greenwood’s Kam Williams was offensive MVP, while Monahans’ Jackson Scharf and Wylie’s Jaxon Bounds were co-defensive MVPs. Big Spring’s Tobyn Tannehill shared the newcomer of the year honor with Jeffrey. Wylie’s Riley Olson and Monahans’ Tivo Armendariz were the co-linemen of the year and the Ironman award was given to Wylie’s Patrick Walker.District 4-3A’s three playoff teams — champion Wylie, runnerup Monahans and third place finisher Greenwood — all advanced three rounds deep before losing this past weekend.Sweetwater finished 4-6 overall under first-year head coach Shane Mobley and 2-3 in district play, but two of the team’s losses this season were by a total of just eight points.