4 Dyess aircrew earn Distinguished Flying Cross Medals

Staff Writer

The Air Force Global Strike Command commander presented a Distinguished Flying Cross July 13 at Dyess Air Force Base, Texas, to each of the B-1B Lancer aircrew members who experienced an in-flight emergency in May.
Gen. Robin Rand, AFGSC commander, presented Distinguished Flying Cross medals to Maj. Christopher N. Duhon, Air Forces Strategic - Operations Division chief of future operations at, Barksdale AFB, Louisiana, and an instructor pilot with duties at the 28th Bomb Squadron; Capt. Matthew Sutton, 28th BS weapons system officer instructor; 1st Lt. Joseph Welch, 28 BS student pilot; and 1st Lt. Thomas C. Ahearn, then 28 BS student weapons system officer who has since completed training and is currently assigned to the 37 BS, Ellsworth AFB, South Dakota.

*Read more in the Sweetwater paper or online edition.