SHS will honor first two softball teams March 21

March 13, 2014

A flag raising ceremony to honor members of the 1996 and 1997 Sweetwater High School softball teams will be held Friday, March 21 at the Jerry Collins Complex.
The ceremony will be held prior to the 2014 team’s District 4-3A home opener against Big Spring at 5 p.m.
The 1996 and 1997 teams were the first from SHS to play softball after it became a UIL-sanctioned sport, and also the first two teams from SHS to make the playoffs after advancing to the bi-district round at the end of the regular season.
Listed here are those who were on one or both teams: Amanda Boyd, Martha Castillo, Peggy Garza, Billie Gilmore, Randi Haggard, LaShelle McGowan, Melisa McGowan, Tiffany Mendez, Renee Mitchell, Becky Moffitt, Melissa Moncada, Mindy Steinbach, Kathy Sumrall, Debbie Torres, Eva Marie Masiel, Holly Miller, Amber Sumrall, Jamie Warner, Michelle Creswell, Jamie Dudensing, Niki Harris, Mary Lee, Ruby Montoya, Kristi Ramirez, Julie Rannefeld, Lisa Webb, Trilece Weyman, Sabrina Gonzales, Anissa DeLaCruz, Bri Lambeth, Yvette Solis, Stacy Robles, Misty Torres and Stacy Bell.
Both of the teams were coached by Karla Mims and James Perry.
Current SHS coach Tony Heredia is trying to contact as many of these former players as possible. Anyone with information on how to reach them is asked to call him at (210) 478-1922.

View more articles in:
Sports Illustrated's Chris Mannix breaks down where big name NBA free agents like LaMarcus Aldridge...
Sweetwater will be sending a team to the Texas State 7-on-7 Division II state championships July 9-...
9-10 YEAR-OLDS Pool play Snyder 19, Sweetwater 1 Wylie White 32, Sweet-water 2 Bracket play (double...


Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes