City election called

February 14, 2013

Appointments to various civic boards made during Tuesday's meeting at City Hall

Approval was given on Tuesday on an ordinance calling for an election to be held on Saturday, May 11 to vote for a mayor and two city commissioners.
Those positions are currently filled by Sweetwater Mayor Greg Wortham, Larry May for Precinct 1 and Ricky Castro in Precinct 3. An election calendar was included in the meeting packets, which outlined specific dates and deadlines.
Also during the meeting, several citizens were approved to serve in a variety of civil boards.
Larry Ludlum was reappointed at the city appointee to the Auditorium Board, with his term expiring at the end of February 2015. City Manager Eddie Brown noted Ludlum's dedication and heavy involvement with the board, as he is currently serving as board president.
In addition, Kimberly Gray has been appointed to the County-City Library board. She will be replacing Larry Lawrence, with her term expiring at the end of December 2015.
The City/County Airport Zoning Board will see some new faces, as Bill Johnson and John Grey were appointed to replace city appointee Ben Turner and county appointee Sandra Osborne Lecroy, respectively. Alternate member Paul McCarthy was approved for reappointment as a city appointee to the board as well.
Brown stated that one purpose of an alternate member is to be able to establish a quorum for meetings. The hope is that Johnson's involvement will lead to a more active airport zoning board.

Sweetwater’s Kensi Chowning goes up for one of her team-high 13 kills in Tuesday’s non-district...
Pictured are the girls who attended Sweetwater Middle School’s volleyball camp to improve their...
The high school football season officially began Monday, as Sweetwater football players reported to...


Classified Ads

Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes